Our Youth Rowing Team   |   Our Rowers (Roster)   |   The Coaches   |   Alumni   |   Team History   |   Our Mission   |   Endorsements

Stefanie Sobotka
Stefanie Sobotka

As a Freshman Novice rower while at Riverview High School in 1994, Stefanie won a gold medal in the Women's Senior Four at the Scholastic Rowing Association Championship in Cherry Hill N.J. She followed this up in 1995 with a silver medal performance in the same event at Mercer Lake, N.J. and then came back in 1996 to win the gold again in the same race at Lake Occoquan, Virginia. Only an injury in 1997 prevented her from competing again and very likely winning another medal in the Women's Senior Four. Stefanie was awarded a scholarship to Jacksonville University and as a freshman rowed in the women's freshmen eight for the entire season. At the Head of the Chattahoochee, her eight finished 3 minutes ahead of the rest of the fleet and the committee determined that this was impossible and that there must have been a timing error whereupon they took away the boats' medals. The remainder of the year established that there had been no timing error as she and her boat went on to every race they entered, including FIRA, SIRA and Dad Vail. We were a small crew, so the following year we all moved up to varsity. In 2000 , she placed 1st in the Four and 2nd in the Eight at FIRA. Stefanie now coaches the girls crew at The Bolles School in Jacksonville where she is instilling the same winning spirit and tradition into her athletes.

Previous Alumni
Under Peter de Manio

Jenny Cox

Boston University
Trudo Letschert
Wendy Meyer

California at Berkeley
Josh Loiko
Rob Woelfel

Central Florida
Angela Henley
Sarah Gray
Amanda Kayatt
Danielle Wiemkin

Zar Toolin

Jon McGaharan
Shane Keane

Florida Inst. of Tech.
Chris Marot
James Frederick

Univ. of Florida
Alex Nicolaides

Maya Joseph

Dinko Vucemilovic

Stefanie Sobotka

Blaire Steinert

Annie Hammel

Bill Plifka
Grant Earl
Kathy Toy
Kristin Olsen
Bree McNichol

Ohio State
Whitney Robbins

Orange Coast
Lara Fraser

Mike Charland
David Tomkins

Mackenzie Mudgett
Katie Williams
Kevin O'Neil
Dan Newman

Ben Hale

Southern Methodist
Carrie Daysch

Austin Shoemaker

Andy Berster
Matt Liwski
Chris Liwski

Lindsay Nook

Univ. of Washington
Lacy Doolin
Ryan Donahue

Washington College
Sarah Lind

West Point
Kerry Burzynski
Ryan Simonson

Paul Semian
Kirby Gallie

Jonathan Smith
Jimmy Larsen
Matt Shirley
Ryan Suplee

Copyright © 2009 Osprey Oars. All rights reserved.       www.ospreyoars.com